My happy place

 

I never thought that I could get such joy from such simple things.

I frequently find myself standing in awe at the scenery around me. It never gets old.

When we decided to up sticks in search of the good life, we inherently knew it was right, but neither of us quite knew how right and how much it would give us over and above the expected.

M happily throws on his overalls and spends quality time making a difference around the land. His chain saw exploits are a blog unto themselves but he’s mastered it and I’m proud of him. He drives a tractor. It’s a far cry from the Alfa Romeo sports car loving fan of a few years ago, but he loves it. Betty – the tractor – is his friend. They work well together.

FullSizeRender-2
Our pal Betty

I find myself happily scouring the walnut grove at any available quiet moment to see if more have fallen. It’s hugely satisfying to collect them, water blast them and then stretch them out in the sun to soak up some rays. The same feelings happen with the plums, the chickens, the mowing ( lots of mowing) and almost everything else associated with the new life.

walnuts-2
Walnuts a plenty

This week has been a busy ‘ other life’ week with daily trips to the Capital ( Wellington) and the City of Sails ( Auckland). It’s been fun but the best bit has been talking about Paradise. Interested friends and business associates are amused and bemused in equal measure. Listening to me enthuse about all things Marlborough has affirmed that this is the long game for us now and not a fleeting idea of escaping the rat race.

My first call when I get home is to walk, breathe the air and be awestruck once again.

Can happy really be that simple?  I think it can.

Fi

2 thoughts on “My happy place

Leave a Reply

