Wobbly boots

There’s a first time for everything and today was no exception.

I take massive pleasure and pride from living in New Zealand – the shaky isles. They’re given that name for good reason – we live on major fault lines and therefore experience the odd shake – or mother nature’s sneeze as some gentle folk call it.

After 15 years in New Zealand, I had managed to avoid any shaking of any kind until today. As I was finishing a blog, I felt the weirdest of sensations. The room went slightly soft focused and bent a little and it felt like someone ( perhaps a giant) was pushing the side of the house while everything in it was resisting. It was short and sharp. By the time I had actually realised what it was and took action, the second one hit – gentler this time. Ignoring all advice I’ve assimilated over the years to ‘Drop, cover and hold’, I grabbed the doodles ( our unconcerned labradoodles) and what seemed essential at the time – my shorts which had been discarded on what was a very very hot Marlborough day .If the house was going down, I was not going to be out and about in my knickers.

However damage was limited to that displayed in the photo below.

12715813_10153417729633030_1089284451795655845_n

Joking aside, it was a jolt that will stay in my memory . I now know what an earthquake actually feels like ( this one was 5.8 magnitude and not far away). That will hopefully allow me to focus on the right advice and pay less attention to what I’m wearing!

Cheers,

Fi

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

